A Little Bit About Me…

10530506_4483329017168_3951068797035852652_oOk, I realize this probably should have come first, but hey, I was never a strict rule follower anyways, so here goes!

I’m Lauren, mama to two little boys, Land C, and wife to R, and we live in Dallas, Texas. L is 2.5 and every bit the image in your head when you think of “toddler’, haha, he’s independent and defiant and cuddly and rough and tumble and bossy and generous and sneaky and messy and sweet and…I think you get the picture. C is 3.5, and a much more reserved child, we recently received a diagnosis of ASD (Autism Spectrum Disorder) and are working through this “new” world with him and he’s currently in a specialized preschool program to help set him up with skills and tools to be successful in the classroom and with life situations in general. He’s a fantastic kid too, all the same things as his brother, just in a different way, and its something we’ve both loved and struggled with. I will probably write more about this at another point in time, probably several times, haha. R is a sous chef for a fantastic locally-owned restaurant and the boys also love to be in the kitchen and help bake or cook.

What else, we also have a big goofy dog that we share our home with and of course, my various sewing machines and projects, can’t forget those girls. Yes, I just referred to my machines as “girls”, and at the risk of sounding nutty, they each have very much their own personalities and temperances, just like my kids. Ok, I may be a little nutty, but ask any seamstress and I promise she’ll tell you the same thing!

 

My boys  love to be outside, and luckily Texas has decent weather for most of the year, so their love of the outdoors is easily accommodated. WE probably spend most of our time outside, soaking it all up and letting the boys just run and be kids. I think its so important for kids to have that opportunity in their days and I personally can tell the difference in my kids on the rainy or colder days when we can’t be out, but as I said, other than this past May, those days aren’t too frequent. I’ll stop here, but I could write a whole other post on the importance of physical activity and outdoor play and the lack of it in public schools, but I’ll save that for later too!

Once again, I’m getting wordy here, so I’ll wrap up and apologize in advance that I will probably get wordy a lot, so I hope you don’t mind too much! Thanks for reading and I hope to get some great projects and pattern reviews and some local stuff up soon!

 

 

4 thoughts on “A Little Bit About Me…

Leave a Reply

